Apple Picking = Apple Overdose

DSC_0423

 

We just took our yearly apple-picking trip, and don’t get me wrong, I LOVE apple-picking, look forward to this trip all year, but now we have a bagful of apples taking up counter-space.  The WB keeps asking for “app-pull”, “app-pull”, but even so, she’ll only eat one or two slices at a time.  We need to start cooking these babies.

I did make a batch of apple chips last week.  I wasn’t completely sold on them, but I think that’s because I sliced them too thin.  I’m willing to try another batch, using the fattest setting on the mandolin.

The husband made an apple pie today – based off of one from The Bible, but a lazy man’s version using refrigerated dough and substituting Earth Balance Soy-Free Natural Buttery Spread for butter.  He says next time he’ll try to make his own dough. I recommended a graham cracker one, though he’s not sold on the idea. But it’s tough to make a decent pie crust without butter.

We still have a ton of apples to use up, so I was thinking about making deep-fried apple wontons.  I have a package of wonton skins I bought to make avocado eggrolls and then never used.  (I still want to add more avocado to our diet, but the problem is, they’re never ripe when you buy them! And then they always ripen on a night when I don’t have the time or energy to experiment in the kitchen.  And then I end up throwing out a rotten avocado a few days later.  Seriously, I’ve thrown out 4 avocados this month.  Don’t tell my husband.)

Anyway, so I found a few recipes for inspiration.

This Apple-Crisp Wonton recipe calls for raisins and agave nectar, two things I don’t have stocked in the pantry.  Agave nectar is a “thing” now, but I know I wouldn’t use it enough to justify the purchase. (I know this because of the molasses that has been decaying on my top shelf for 2 years now).  And I have no idea how to translate those measurements into sugar, so I’ll pass on this one.

This Apple Wonton Bundle recipe calls for an individual piece of apple in each wonton.  So a very different texture from the pureed apple and raisins in the first recipe.  I want the wonton to have a bit of bite, and not be complete mush, but I’m afraid the apple piece wouldn’t soften enough.

This Cinnamon Apple Wonton recipe is a bit intense, and calls for “Good Quality Cinnamon”.  I didn’t know cinnamon came in different qualities, but the stuff in my cabinet says “Stop n’ Shop” so I’m guessing it’s maybe “Average Quality Cinnamon”.  However, I really think this recipe is onto something with cooking the apple mixture first.  It seems like the best balance in textures.  And it won third prize at the Iowa State Fair, which means this cook should have her own show on the Food Network.  I’ve never been to Iowa but if I did go it would be to visit their State Fair and eat fried things.

So, let me know if you have other ideas for using up apples.  And if I end up making any of these, I will post the results!

One response to “Apple Picking = Apple Overdose

  1. Thanks for linking to my apple picking post! We are still working through our heap of apples from a few weeks ago. So far we’ve made: apple crisp, apple sauce, apple topping for pancakes, cinnamon apple cookies, and pork chops with apples and onions, and we still have plenty more apples in the fridge! I love all the apple things, but it does get to be a bit much after a while. Thinking about making muffins or an apple coffee cake next.

Leave a Reply

