Fall is Slow Cooker Weather!

It seems the last heat wave of the season is ending, and Fall is upon us.  Is there anything better on a chilly evening than to come home to a hot meal from the slow cooker?

We have the Hamilton Beach 33967 Set ‘n Forget 6-Quart Programmable Slow Cooker, it really is as good as Consumer Reports says. I have a couple cookbooks I rely on for ideas. Fix-It and Forget-It is the slow cooker bible.  It’s great for beginners, has lots of tips scattered among the pages, and covers all the basic dishes.  However, there’s a lot of overlap – 10 different recipes for taco soup – and a lot of recipes depend on ingredients like worchester sauce and canned cream of mushroom soup.  Even if I could serve cream of mushroom soup to my family, I wouldn’t.

Because cream of mushroom is just plain gross, who came up with that anyway.  Blech.

Anyway, I’m always on the lookout for new recipes, but I tend to stick with a few tried and true basics.  I make an Irish Beef Stew that’s great on winter days.  And my husband makes a steel-cut oatmeal with craisins and brown sugar.  We don’t have written recipes either – we rely on muscle memory, but the next time we make these dishes I’ll write them down and post them.

If you have any favorite slow cooker recipes, please share them.  Especially if they can be made allergy-safe.

 

One response to “Fall is Slow Cooker Weather!

  1. Pingback: Slow Cooked Hearty Autumn Pumpkin Stew | A Day In the Life of Gwen·

Leave a Reply

