Scrambled Egg Muffins

I modified this recipe for Scrambled Egg Muffins for the Wee Bear. They’re like yummy little mini-omelettes.

I only used 6 eggs, expecting to make 6 muffins. However, I had so much STUFF in there that I ended up making 10 muffins – they ended up chunky but with enough egg to deliciously hold things together. I also originally planned to add chopped avocado, but there was already so much filling that I was afraid there wasn’t space. I’ll definitely be making these again, and I’ll try with avocado.

Ingredients:

  • 6 eggs
  • 1/3 package of bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 large potato, peeled and chopped into small chunks
  • 4 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • coconut oil cooking spray, or cupcake wrappers

Preheat oven to 350. Heat half of vegetable oil in frying pan. Add potato and cook until soft, stirring often. (I make sure they’re done by spearing the largest chunk and eating it.) Remove potato from pan and heat remaining oil. Add onion and garlic and cook until soft. **Another option is to leave the onion raw – I think this would add a flavorful crunch, but I was afraid the WB wouldn’t like the texture or taste** In a large bowl, beat the eggs until they’re frothy and have increased in volume. I used a whisk instead of a fork. Stir in potato, onion, garlic, and the crumbled bacon. Spoon mixture into muffin tins that have been either lined with cupcake wrappers, or coated in cooking spray. I used coconut oil cooking spray – it doesn’t leave a taste, and the muffins pop right out. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean.

20130905-224656.jpg

20130905-224710.jpg

20130905-224718.jpg

20130905-225306.jpg

One response to “Scrambled Egg Muffins

  1. Pingback: Food Journal | Feed The Bear·

Leave a Reply

